Ca_Law

labor_form_guidance | California

Fast Food Minimum Wage Frequently Asked Questions

Summary

Fast Food Minimum Wage Frequently Asked Questions

Text

Retrieval chunks

  • #1

    Labor Commissioner's Office Fast Food Minimum Wage Frequently Asked Questions The FAQs provide general information and are not exhaustive. They do not constitute legal advice regarding your particular circumstances . What is the new law that raises the minimum wage for fast food employees? AB 1228 is a new law i…

  • #2

    Who are “fast food restaurant employees” under the new law? The law applies only to employees of “fast food restaurants.” To be considered a fast food restaurant, the restaurant must meet ALL of the below criteria: The restaurant must be a “limited-service restaurant” in California. A limited service …

  • #3

    For example, if a fast food pizza chain of restaurants earns 30% of its revenue from “take and bake” pizza to be baked at home, but earns 70% of its revenue from sales of fully-cooked food and beverages for immediate consumption, the chain is primarily engaged in selling food and beverage for immediate consumption…

  • #4

    “Bread” is defined as a single unit item that weighs at least ½ pound after cooling and must be sold as a stand-alone item. The one-half pound weight requirement applies to the weight of the single item (e.g., a single loaf of bread that may or may not be sliced after baking), not the weight of multiple items packag…

  • #5

    with any sale of other “household supplies or other products … secondary to the primary purpose of food sales.” Primarily means that the establishment earns more than 50% of its gross income from the sale of household foodstuffs for offsite consumption. (2) The grocery establishment employer employs the…

  • #6

    Yes. Even though an employer may have to pay $20.00 an hour to workers at some of its establishments, workers at the employer’s other establishments may be exempt from the law. For example, if the establishment where you work produces and sells “bread” as a stand-alone menu item, your work establishment would be …

  • #7

    For a manager to qualify as an “exempt employee” under California law, the employer must pay them at least two times the state minimum wage for someone working 40 hours a week, and the manager must meet other specific requirements, including the requirement that the manager must be engaged in exempt tasks for more…

  • #8

    Generally speaking, there are three ways to present such a claim - through the Labor Commissioner, through an alternative dispute resolution system such as arbitration (if required or allowed under an employment agreement), or through a lawsuit in court. Employees pursuing the first option can file an individual …

  • #9

    The hourly minimum wage established by the Council can increase every year by either 3.5% or the increase in the consumer price index, whichever is smaller. The Fast Food Council can establish a single statewide minimum wage for fast food restaurant employees or vary the minimum wage by region of the State. The C…